Founder of Press Club Belarus
Financial Director
Programme Director
Yuliya Slutskaya
Sergey Olshevski
Alla Sharko
Members of the Press Club Belarus team, including those who worked on this project, are on remand from December 22, 2020.
This is their story.
Peter Slutsky
Cameraman
Evidence of repression
against independent media
and journalists in Belarus

PRESS
UNDER
PRESSURE

Beatings, injuries, detentions. Searches, arrests, trials. Website blocks, refusals to print, revocation of credentials… Belarusian independent journalists and media are no longer protected: either by the law, or their “Press“ vests, or their press cards.

Since August 2020, journalists, editors, and photojournalists of Belarusian independent media have been working without rest, on adrenaline. They also spend nights near police departments and temporary detention centers where their colleagues are detained. They take part in solidarity actions, and demand meetings with senior officials of the Ministry of Internal Affairs… And yet, they continue to do their job – discovering and disseminating information about what is happening in Belarus here and now.
Journalists during a rally, following which they were convicted for coordinating the protest march.
Photo by TUT.BY
A group of journalists being detained before a rally starts to prevent coverage of events.
PHOTO BY TUT.BY
It must be said that the Press under Pressure project cannot be considered complete at the time of publication: the number of injured journalists is still growing, the stories continue to pile up, and some of them evolve. For example, the police opened a criminal investigation against the Nasha Niva editor-in-chief for defamatory libel after a podcast had been recorded; numerous journalists are being detained and imprisoned for the second or the third time – it is easy to lose count.

So we will continue to record the stories of journalists and editors in interviews in which they talk about what is happening now and what it feels like to work in such conditions.

Listen to the voices of Belarusian journalists and editors, read their stories, look into their eyes and understand the price they pay to remain in the profession – and do their job, no matter what.
The statistics below refer to the period from August 9, 2020 to March 21, 2021. The numbers are constantly increasing and updating. Information from the operative spreadsheet of the Belarusian Association of Journalists.
4 0 5
detentions
Journalists are detained while working on the streets, ostensibly for document checks, but are then taken to police departments, cutting them off from events and denying them the chance to report from the ground. Correspondents and photographers are often detained both during livestreams and before events begin, being physically removed from the streets.

Such detentions can be especially widespread on some days, either on the eve or at the beginning of protests. During just one day, August 27, the security forces removed 47 journalists from the streets of the cities of Minsk and Brest.
“‘I am a journalist at Radio Liberty! I do not resist!’ That's all I had the time to say. I was professionally grappled, thrown on the tarmac, held down with a knee, and handcuffed. I kept repeating, ‘I do not resist.’ However, they still beat me on the head with their fists – for fun, I guess. Then they started pulling my stuff out of my pockets while hitting me on the back of the head, in the temple, in my eye.”
“We saw and heard people being beaten. There's such cruelty, about which a lot is said, at Okrestina Street. And because they were sure that there were no unnecessary witnesses, the cruelty was atrocious.”
Security officials warn photo journalists that they must not approach the crowd more closely.
Photo by Pavel Krichko
Journalists gather in front of a police station in solidarity with their detained colleague holding posters "I DO NOT PROTEST, I WORK", "THIS IS MY DUTY", "FREEDOM TO JOURNALISTS".
Photo by TUT.BY
6 4
incidents of physical abuse
Despite the fact that journalists do not participate in rallies and wear special vests in order to remain visible at all times, they are still among those brutally beaten and detained. In the early days of the protests, the security forces beat and tortured detained journalists.
“A major used me as a table when questioning a guy next to me. He put a piece of paper on my back and wrote down the information. Later, he told me to crawl aside so that he could continue.”
“We were not fed for two days. We were not fed for two nights. Not a scrap. The third day came. We slept on boards, on bare bunks, with no mattresses, no sheets. We only drank water.”
“We were lucky enough to get detained very early and avoid being beaten by the riot police. They didn't beat us that much. We were taken out into the yard just once and beaten with sticks.”
“A special police officer said he would open any random cell and beat the first person who came across if someone shouted.”
3
incidents of gunshot injuries
On August 10, Nasha Niva journalist Natalia Lubnevskaya was shot in the leg with a rubber bullet while working at a protest in Minsk. Nasha Niva published a video where you can see the security forces officer fire at Natalia from close range.
A journalist injured by a baton round led by her colleagues.
Photo by Uladz Hrydzin
“Most of us wore blue ‘Press’ vests, we all had special badges. It was clear we were not participating in the event. However, this did not save us, unfortunately. The shooter decided that it was okay to shoot at an unarmed person who was doing their job, did not threaten him in any way, and did not even see him.”
9 7 0
days of arrest handed out to journalists
2 1 2
served the term of arrest
8 4
were detained for more than 3 hours
Journalists covering the protests are being accused of, and sentenced to, different terms of administrative arrest for alleged participation in unauthorized events, shouting out slogans or coordinating protest actions.

Conveyor courts hand out identical sentences, with judges who never let lawyers defend their clients, interrogate anonymous witnesses or establish their identity. Witnesses in balaclavas under assumed names appear in courts against journalists.
Detained, allegedly for checking documents.
PHOTO BY TUT.BY
Journalists stage an all-night vigil in front of a police station where their colleagues are being held. Minsk residents brought warm beverages and food.
Photo by TUT.BY
1 2 9
journalists found guilty of “violation of the procedure for organising or holding mass events"
journalists have become involved in criminal cases since August
1 8
journalists found guilty of "Disobedience
to a lawful order or request of an official"
3 3
Massive conveyor belt trials of journalists began in September. After the student protests, journalists detained during their work were sentenced to three days of administrative arrest. But then the terms became different: from 10 to 20 days of arrest. Article 23.34 (“violation of the procedure for organising or holding mass events") is supplemented by article 23.4 ("Disobedience to a lawful order or request of an official"), which allows the courts to appoint longer terms. In November, the terms already reach 25 days.

In addition, journalists are drawn into criminal cases. At the time of the release of the special project, six journalists are accused under Part 1 of Article 342 of the Criminal Code – “organizing and preparing actions that grossly violate public order." Two more journalists are suspects in other criminal cases, for example, “divulging medical secrets, which entailed grave consequences" after the publication of high-profile material, or allegedly slandering a high-ranking official.

On 22 December, Press Club Belarus got under the "criminal pressure" as well. And since January 2021, the number of criminal cases against journalists started growing exponentially. Journalists have been accused of "financing protest activities", "tax evasion", "insulting the President of the Republic of Belarus"...

On 18 February 2021, the first court judgement was made under one of such criminal cases: Belsat journalists Katerina Andreeva and Daria Chultsova were found guilty and sentenced to two years in a low security prison.
“Many of us had a witness in a balaclava named Kovalyov speaking at our trials. Despite the balaclava, it was obvious that all those Kovalyovs were different people. That Kovalyov saw three journalists from different media in different parts of the march and heard them coordinating students with the same phrase ‘keep going!’”
“Four hours later, I was taken to another court, to another judge. She was very surprised to hear that I had already had a trial. I had spent three days in the Okrestina Detention Center. Beaten, hungry, under moral pressure. I was tortured, but still have no documents certifying my detention.”
7 6
independent media websites and political resources blocked
This is a quotation from the decision by the Interdepartmental Commission on Security in the Information Sphere under the Security Council: the decision to restrict access due to “inflicting damage on national interests” was only taken on August 21, while the resource had been offline since August 9.

The Ministry of Information in its letter attributes such measures to the fact that the blocked publications describe the situation in Belarus following the end of the electoral campaign in a negative way and discredit the work of state bodies.”
Journalists released after trials where witnesses wore balaclavas. The widely covered case features on a newspaper's front page.
Photo by Violeta Savchits
A Skype trial of a journalist who reported from a rally. A witness testifies using an assumed name and wearing a balaclava.
PHOTO BY TUT. BY
1 9
journalists of well-known international media had their accreditations revoked on August 29
Foreign photographers and correspondents were deported, sometimes beaten, and some were kept in the detention center on Okrestina Street. More than 100 journalists from international media were denied accreditation in anticipation of the elections. International organizations issued statements condemning such practices.
The largest information portal of the country, TUT.BY, has had its media status revoked
Belarusian legislation provides for a specific form of sanction against the media – written warnings issued by the Ministry of Information. A media organization can be closed by a court decision if it receives two or more warnings within a year.

TUT.BY received four warnings during August and September 2020. The Ministry of Information filed a lawsuit to close down the online platform TUT.BY. Its status as media were suspended for three months, from October 1 to December 30, 2020.

The economic court's decision of December 3, 2020, stripped TUT.BY of its media status, however, this does not mean that the portal will cease to operate. TUT.BY continues as an “Internet resource” and, according to the Law “On Media” (Article 301), an Internet resource can collect and distribute information.

The media status gives certain benefits, such as the right to be present in the zones of armed conflicts or emergency situations, at public events, in places where socially important events are held, and disseminate information from there.
“The status of the media is a protection for the journalist in a situation where the law is in force. But now whether you have media status or not – there is no difference."
Chief Editor of TUT.BY greets journalists after several days in detention.
Photo by Violeta Savchits
Protesters support media with "Hands Off TUT.BY" poster.
PHOTO BY TUT.BY
6
newspapers were denied printing and access
to distribution
Newspapers represent a traditional source of information for older people. And those covering what is happening in the country in an unbiased manner are being denied access to printing presses and distribution among their readers.

Four national newspapers, including Narodnaya Volya, KP in Belarus, Svobodnye Novosti, Belgazeta, were denied print and distribution. The official reason for the repeated breach of obligations by the state Press House is an allegedly broken printing press. However, state newspapers were printed without delay on the days of the “breakdown".

On 1 January 2021, a local state-owned printer refused to print Brestskaya Gazeta. Negotiations with other state-owned printers failed. And since 1 February Novy Chas weekly newspaper disappeared from the state-owned monopolist Belsayuzdruk kiosks. The newspaper is now available only by subscription or in PDF format.
“They actually believe that if they close down all the (few) printed newspapers, they will only have state television, state radio, and their own newspapers left, and so people will have no other point of view…”

Команда беларусского Пресс-клуба находится в СИЗО.
Почитайте и послушайте рассказ о них.
основательница Пресс-клуба
финансовый директор
программный директор
Юлия Слуцкая
Сергей Ольшевский
Алла Шарко
Пётр Слуцкий
оператор-постановщик
Свидетельства репрессий
против независимых медиа
и журналистов в Беларуси
Пресса
под
прессом

Слушайте и читайте истории:

Избиения, ранения, задержания. Обыски, аресты, суды. Блокировки сайтов, отказ в печати, лишение статуса СМИ… Беларусских независимых журналистов и медиа больше не защищают ни закон, ни жилеты с надписью «Пресса», ни удостоверения.

С августа 2020 года, журналисты, редакторы, фотокорреспонденты работают без нормального отдыха, на адреналине. А ещё они ночуют у РУВД и изоляторов временного содержания, куда отправляют их коллег, проводят акции солидарности, требуют встреч с руководством МВД… И продолжают делать свою работу: находить и распространять информацию о происходящем в Беларуси здесь и сейчас.
Журналисты во время акции, после которой их осудили за координацию движения колонны протестующих.
ФОТО: TUT.BY
Журналистов массово задерживают до начала массовых акциЙ, чтобы убрать медиа с места событиЙ.
ФОТО: TUT.BY
Мы вынуждены констатировать, что на момент опубликования проект «Пресса под прессом» не может считаться завершённым: количество пострадавших журналистов увеличивается, историй становится всё больше, они находят продолжение. Так, на главреда «Нашай Нівы» уже после записи подкаста с ним завели уголовное дело «за клевету». Многих журналистов задерживают и сажают во второй, третий раз – легко сбиться со счёта.

Поэтому мы будем продолжать записывать истории журналистов и редакторов, их рассказы о том, что происходит и каково работать в таких условиях.

Послушайте голоса беларусских журналистов и редакторов, прочитайте их истории, посмотрите в их глаза. Чтобы понять, чего им стоит сохранять верность профессии и делать своё дело, несмотря ни на что.
Цифры постоянно увеличиваются и обновляются. Данные по состоянию на 21 марта 2021 года. Статистика приводится за период с 9 августа 2020 года. Информация из оперативной таблицы Белорусской ассоциации журналистов.
4 0 5
Задержаний
Журналистов задерживают во время работы на улицах якобы для проверки документов и увозят в РУВД, отрезая от событий и мешая передавать аудитории информацию с мест. Задерживают как во время стримов, так и до начала акций, физически изымая корреспондентов и фотографов с улиц.

В отдельные дни, накануне или в начале акций протестов, подобные задержания журналистов носили массовый характер. Только за один день, 27 августа, в Минске и Бресте силовики задержали 47 журналистов.
«Я журналист „Радио Свабода“! Я не сопротивляюсь!». Это всё, что я успел сказать. Меня профессионально заломали, бросили на асфальт, сверху придавили коленом, надели наручники. Я все время повторял: я не сопротивляюсь. Но меня все равно били кулаком по голове, для удовольствия, наверное. Потом начали вытаскивать всё из карманов. Продолжали бить по затылку, в висок, в глаз.
Мы видели и слышали, как людей избивали. То есть это была такая жестокость, про которую много рассказывают, которая на Окрестина была. А они были уверены, что нет лишних свидетелей, поэтому жестокость была зверская.
ФОТОКОРРЕСПОНДЕНТОВ ПРЕДУПРЕДИЛИ СИЛОВИКИ, ЧТО ИМ НЕЛЬЗЯ ПРИБЛИЖАТЬСЯ К КОЛОННЕ ПРОТЕСТУЮЩИх.
ФОТО: Павел Кричко
акция солидарности журналистов под РУВД, где находится коллега. Плакаты «я не протестую, я работаю», «Это я при исполнении», «свободу журналистам».
ФОТО: TUT.BY
6 4
слУчая физического
насилия
Несмотря на то, что журналисты не являются участниками акций и обозначены специальными жилетами, чтобы быть заметными, они попадают в число избитых и задержанных с применением насилия.

В первые дни протестов силовики подвергали избиениям и пыткам задержанных журналистов.
Майор использовал меня как столик, когда опрашивал человека рядом со мной. На меня бумажку положил и записывал данные. Потом сказал переползти, чтобы он мог продолжить.
Эти два дня нас не кормили. Две ночи не кормили. Ничего. Третий день уже пошёл. На досках спали. На нарах, без матрасов, без постели. Пили воду только.
Нам повезло, потому что задержали нас очень рано, и мы не попали под избиения ОМОНа. Нас сильно не били. Только один раз вывели во двор и побили палками.
Спецназовец сказал, что если кто-то будет кричать, он откроет наугад любую камеру и изобьёт первого попавшегося человека.
3
слУчая РАНЕНИЙ
10 августа журналистку «Нашай Нівы» Наталью Лубневскую ранили в ногу резиновой пулей, когда она работала на акции протеста в Минске. «Наша Ніва» опубликовала видео, где можно увидеть, как в Наталью с близкого расстояния выстрелил сотрудник силовых структур.
Раненную резиновой пулей журналистку ведут её коллеги.
ФОТО: Уладзь Грыдзін
Большинство из нас было в синих жилетах «Пресса», у всех были специальные бейджи. Было чётко видно, что мы не участники процесса. Но, к сожалению, нас это не спасло. Боец решил что это нормально — стрелять в безоружного человека, который находится на работе, ничем ему не угрожает и даже его не видит.
9 7 0
сУток ареста присУждено жУрналистам
2 1 2
ЖУРНАЛИСТа отбывали арест
8 4
ЖУРНАЛИСТов были задержаны на срок более 3 часов
Журналистов, которые освещают акции протеста, обвиняют и сажают на разное количество суток административного ареста якобы за участие в несанкционированном мероприятии, выкрикивание лозунгов, за координацию акций протеста.

Конвейерные суды с одинаковыми приговорами, свидетелями в балаклавах под вымышленными именами. Судьи не оставляют адвокатам возможности защитить подзащитных, допросить анонимных свидетелей и установить их личности.
ЗАДЕРЖАНИЕ ЯКОБЫ ДЛЯ ПРОВЕРКИ ДОКУМЕНТОВ.
ФОТО: TUT.BY
ЖУРНАЛИСТЫ ПРОВЕЛИ НОЧЬ ПОД РУВД, ГДЕ ОСТАЮТСЯ ЗАДЕРЖАННЫЕ КОЛЛЕГИ. МИНЧАНЕ ПРИНОСИЛИ ТЕПЛОЕ ПИТЬЕ И ЕДУ.
ФОТО: TUT.BY
1 2 9
ЖУРНАЛИСТОВ ОСУДИЛИ ЗА НАРУШЕНИЕ ПОРЯДКА МАССОВЫХ МЕРОПРИЯТИЙ
ЖУРНАЛИСТОВ и представителей медиа С АВГУСТА СТАЛИ ФИГУРАНТАМИ УГОЛОВНЫХ ДЕЛ
1 8
ЖУРНАЛИСТА ОСУДИЛИ ЗА НЕПОВИНОВЕНИЕ ДОЛЖНОСТНОМУ ЛИЦУ

3 3
Массово конвейерные суды над журналистами начались в сентябре. После студенческих акций протеста задержанных во время работы журналистов приговаривают к 3 суткам административного ареста, затем сроки становятся другими: от 10 до 20 суток ареста.

Статья 23.34 «за участие в акции» дополняется статьей 23.4 «за неповиновение сотруднику», что позволяет судам назначать более длительные сроки. В ноябре сроки достигают уже и 25 суток.

Кроме того, журналисты становятся фигурантами уголовных дел. В ноябре 6 журналистов обвиняют по ч. 1 статьи 342 УК — «организация и подготовка действий, грубо нарушающих общественный порядок». Ещё 2 журналиста — подозреваемые по другим уголовным делам, например, «разглашение врачебной тайны, повлекшее тяжкие последствия» после выхода резонансного материала, или якобы клевета на высокопоставленного чиновника.

22 декабря под «уголовный пресс» попадает и команда Пресс-клуба. А с января 2021 года уголовные дела в отношении журналистов растут в геометрической прогрессии. Их подозревают в «финансировании протестной деятельности», «уклонении от уплаты налогов», «оскорблении Президента Республики Беларусь»…

18 февраля 2021 года суд выносит первый приговор по одному из уголовных дел: журналисток «Белсата» Катерину Андрееву и Дарью Чульцову признают виновными и наказывают двумя годами колонии общего режима.
У многих на судах выступал свидетель в балаклаве с фамилией Ковалёв. Но даже через балаклаву было видно, что все эти Ковалёвы — разные люди. Так вот этот Ковалёв видел трёх журналистов разных СМИ в разных частях колонны. И слышал, как они координировали движение студентов всё той же фразой «продолжаем движение!».
Через четыре часа меня повели на другой суд, к другой судье. Та была очень удивлена, когда я сказала, что суд у меня уже был. На Окрестина я провела трое суток. Избитая, голодная, под моральным давлением. Меня подвергали пыткам, и при этом у меня на руках нет вообще никакой бумажки.
7 6
сайтов независимых медиа и политических ресУрсов были заблокированы
Так постановила межведомственная комиссия по безопасности в информационной сфере при Совете безопасности Республики Беларусь. Решение об ограничении доступа с формулировкой о «нанесении вреда национальным интересам» было принято только 21 августа, хотя все ресурсы были недоступны с 9 августа.

В письме министерства информации такие меры объяснялись тем, что заблокированные издания «негативно характеризуют ситуацию в Беларуси после окончания электоральной кампании и дискредитируют деятельность государственных органов».
ВЫШЕДШИЕ НА ВОЛЮ ЖУРНАЛИСТЫ, СУДЫ НАД НИМИ СО СВИДЕТЕЛЯМИ В БАЛАКЛАВАХ ПОЛУЧИЛИ ОГЛАСКУ. НА ПЕРВОЙ СТРАНИЦе ГАЗЕТЫ — ИСТОРИЯ ЖУРНАЛИСТОВ.
ФОТО: Виолетта Савчиц
ИДЁТ СУД ПО SKYPE — НАД ЖУРНАЛИСТОМ, КОТОРЫЙ ОСВЕЩАЛ АКЦИЮ. ВЫСТУПАЕТ АНОНИМНЫЙ СВИДЕТЕЛЬ В БАЛАКЛАВЕ.
ФОТО: TUT. BY
1 9
ЖУРНАЛИСТОВ ИЗВЕСТНЫХ МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫХ СМИ БЫЛИ ЛИШЕНЫ АККРЕДИТАЦИИ ТОЛЬКО 29 АВГУСТА
Иностранных фотографов и корреспондентов высылали, иногда после избиения, а некоторые сидели в изоляторе на Окрестина. Более чем 100 журналистам международных медиа было отказано в аккредитации перед выборами. Международные организации выступили с заявлениями, осуждающими такую практику.
КРУПНЕЙШИЙ ИНФОРМАЦИОННЫЙ ПОРТАЛ СТРАНЫ TUT.BY ЛИШЁН СТАТУСА СМИ
Беларусским законодательством предусмотрена специфическая форма санкций в отношении СМИ: письменные предупреждения, которые выносятся министерством информации. СМИ может быть закрыто по решению суда при наличии в течение года двух и более предупреждений.

TUT.BY в течение августа-сентября 2020 года получил четыре предупреждения. Министерство информации обратилось в суд с иском о прекращении выпуска сетевого издания TUT.BY. Действие статуса СМИ было приостановлено на три месяца — с 1 октября по 30 декабря 2020 года.

3 декабря 2020 года состоялся экономический суд. TUT.BY был лишён статуса СМИ. Однако это не означает, что портал будет закрыт. TUT.BY продолжает работать как интернет-ресурс. В законе «О средствах массовой информации» (в статье 301) указано, что интернет-ресурс может собирать и распространять информацию.

Статус СМИ даёт преимущества: возможность на законных основаниях присутствовать в районах вооруженных конфликтов или чрезвычайных ситуаций, на массовых мероприятиях, в местах общественно важных событий и передавать оттуда информацию.
Статус СМИ является защитой для журналиста в ситуации, когда действует закон. Но сейчас есть у тебя статус СМИ или нет — разницы не существует.
ГЛАВРЕД TUT.BY ВСТРЕЧАЕТ ЖУРНАЛИСТОВ ПОСЛЕ СУТОК НА ОКРЕСТИНА.
ФОТО: Виолетта Савчиц
ПРОТЕСТУЮЩИЕ ПОДДЕРЖИВАЮТ МЕДИА ПЛАКАТОМ «РУКИ ПРОЧЬ ОТ TUT.BY».
ФОТО: TUT.BY
7
ГАЗЕТАМ ОТКАЗАЛИ
В ПЕЧАТИ И ДОСТУПЕ
К РАСПРОСТРАНЕНИЮ
Газетам, которые объективно освещают происходящее в стране и являются привычной формой потребления информации для людей старшего возраста, власти не дают возможности печататься и быть доставленными в руки читателей.

После выборов в августе 2020-го четырём общереспубликанским газетам — «Народная Воля», «Комсомольская правда в Беларуси», «Свободные Новости плюс», «БелГазета» — отказано в печати и распространении. В качестве причины неоднократного отказа исполнения обязательств государственный Дом печати указал «сломанный типографский станок». В то же время государственные газеты были напечатаны в дни указанной поломки.

С 1 января 2021 года местная государственная типография отказалась печатать «Брестскую газету». Договориться с другими государственными типографиями изданию также не удалось. А с 1 февраля из киосков государственного монополиста «Белсоюзпечать» исчез еженедельник «Новы час». Сейчас газета доступна только по подписке или в PDF-версии.

9 мая (в Беларуси это праздничный и нерабочий день – прим. ред.) Дом печати в одностороннем порядке и по электронной почте расторг договор с региональной негосударственной газетой Intex-press (Барановичи). Причины разрыва договорных отношений типография не пояснила. Чуть ранее, в конце апреля, «Белпочта» также исключила газету из подписного каталога на 2-е полугодие 2021 года. Теперь издание выходит только в электронном виде. Печатная версия газеты издавалась 26 лет.
Они считали, что, если прикроют все печатные газеты, которых немного, у них будет только беларусское телевидение, беларусское радио, свои газеты. И другой точки зрения у людей не будет…