Nasha Niva after destruction: hostages, relocation, a new start
Nasha Niva has been under pressure since August 2020. Yet on July 8, 2021, the publication's life changed dramatically: large-scale searches were conducted, the old website was shut down, the team was forced to flee Belarus and the editor-in-chief Yahor Martsinovich and the head of the department of advertising and marketing Andrei Skurko were imprisoned.

Anastasia Rovdo, Director of Nasha Niva, and relatives of the detained speak about how the journalists and the publication are doing now.
July 2021, timeline

July 8, searches and detainments

Security officers came to the editorial office of Nasha Niva, as well as to a number of employees. Four people were detained that day: Editor-in-chief Yahor Martsinovich, Head of the Department of Advertising and Marketing Andrei Skurko, editor-in-chief of Nasha Historyja journal Andrei Dynko and Chief Accountant Olga Rakovich.

Yahor Martsinovich suffered a beating while being detained; an ambulance was called for him to the Investigative Committee. Andrei Skurko has diabetes, he got to the medical ward while at the pre-trial detention facility due to lung condition (as clarified later, it was pneumonia probably caused by COVID-19).

The searches and interrogations were first conducted under article 342 of the Criminal Code (Organisation or preparation of actions in gross violation of public order or participation in such) and article 293 of the Criminal Code (Mass riots).

The nn.by website became unavailable the same day. Later, the authorities stated the reason: "By notification from the General Prosecutor's Office, due to publication of information prohibited for dissemination by item 1 of Article 38 of the Law of the Republic of Belarus 'On mass media' the Ministry of Information has adopted a decision to restrict access to nn.by Internet resource."

July 13

The editorial office announced the relocation. "Being a journalist of an independent media outlet inside the country is suicude," said Anastasia Rovdo, Director of the publication, at the press conference.

July 16

On that day, the publication's accountant Olga Rakovich was released from the detention centre in Akrestsina. Olga's relatives informed Nasha Niva about that.

July 21

Martsinovich and Skurko were detained on remand by the decision of the Investigative Committee. Editor-in-chief of Nasha Historyja Andrei Dynko was released with an undertaking to appear.

July 28

Martsinovich and Skurko were charged. Under a completely different article, though: part 2 of Article 216 of the Criminal Code (Property damage without evidence of stealing, committed by a group of people).

The claims appeared because the utility services for the premises occupied by the editorial office were paid for according to tariffs for individuals, not legal entities. According to the investigators' information, Minenergo (short for the Ministry of Energy of the Republic of Belarus – translator's note) suffered damages of 3.5 thousands Belarusian Roubles. The institution itself never contacted the editorial office directly.

Editor-in-chief of Nasha Niva and the head of the department of advertising and marketing have been recognized as political prisoners.

July 29

Nasha Niva's new website was launched, nashaniva.com.

"For all these days, we have been working on our new website. As our editor-in-chief said in his letters from prison, the national brand has to work because Nasha Niva is not Martsinovich or Skurko kept at the detention centre, it is hundreds of its readers. Let's show we are many," the editorial office stated.
"Whatever happens, Nasha Niva will live"
Anastasiya Rovdo
Director of Nasha Niva
About new challenges

Our new website was launched, nashaniva.com. But in Belarus it can only be accessed via a VPN. It is a challenge all the Belarusian media are facing: how to work and reach your readers when your voice is being silenced.

We need to think about new formats, content diversification, about the things we've never developed and done before. So, we plan to expand and grow in new directions, to learn new things. What we had before, is gone.

We have a number of options. Technological solutions – we are in consultation with our programmers on what we can do. Or we go back to content diversification, then we'll need to look for new grounds to place our content.

I hope we'll manage to build our editorial work in a new format within a year. I'd like to believe that the situation with the freedom of speech in Belarus will improve and we will be able to go back to the free Internet – when our readers can access us and there are no obstacles on the way. But we have to prepare for the worst.

What we're asking from our readers now is to become our voices, to send us information. Each person, each Belarusian must become the voice of mass media and transmit what we, sadly, cannot see and hear ourselves.
Yahor Martsinovich. Photo by Press Club Belarus
About relocation

Our position was to stay in the country for as long as possible. The majority of our team is free, but our leaders, Yahor Martsinovich and Andrei Skurko, have been detained. We must carry on our work because it is their lifetime project. They have to have something to come back to. So whatever happens, Nasha Niva will live.

I can't say this situation was utterly unexpected. We understood what country we live in, we've heard the statements from the authorities and we understood they might entail real actions. We have prepared, but the actual events can't be predicted: one cannot know where the blow will come from. Yet the back-up plans we had prepared helped us regroup and now we continue working more or less as usual.

Our journalists are not working in Belarus now. The team creating content for Nasha Niva is abroad.

We have to admit that it is becoming impossible for the independent media to work inside the country. We had to face a choice: leave the profession and be silenced or keep our work outside Belarus. We chose the second. Being abroad, we can do something while the risks inside Belarus are now too high.

And the issue of author's safety is now as urgent as never before. It used to be an honour for the authors to sign each text with their names, but now they are forced to hide, unfortunately. It's faceless journalism. It's unhealthy, it shouldn't be like this; the authors should be proud of what they do. But it's not safe.

Due to COVID-19 we've learned to work online, to communicate with people without meeting in person. Our team is scattered around the world. But I want to believe we will reunite. Team spirit means a lot and it is very important for us to meet, to hear each other, to have intellectual buzzing.

People are still stressed now, adapting to new circumstances. Journalists are unstable psychologically due to a huge amount of changes. Additionally, our correspondents have worked in harsh and unsafe conditions for a year. It is absolutely not normal to get ready to be detained every day. It shouldn't be like this.

Who substitutes Yahor Martsinovich now? There is no other Yahor Martsinovich who could completely replace him. He was and he still is our editor-in-chief. We split his duties between us and restructured our work. And we are waiting for Yahor to return.


About hostages

Four of our colleagues were detained on July 8. After 8 days, accountant Olga Rakovich was released, Andrei Dynko after 13. They are free now, they have not been charged, but their status hasn't changed, they are still suspects.

Andrei Skurko and Yahor Martsinovich are at the pre-trial detention centre in Valadarskaha St. in Minsk. They were sentenced to two months of prison each. We call them hostages, for there is no other proper definition.

We are very much concerned about Andrei's health. He was diagnosed with pneumonia probably caused by COVID-19, and he has diabetes which poses a great risk. We hope Andrei will be provided guaranteed medical care and the doctors on site will not bring the situation to the boiling point and reference him to their more qualified colleagues, if necessary.

People keep asking how to support our colleagues. A good option is money transfers. With this money, they will be able to buy food, essentials.

But the most important and needed option is letters. We ask people to, please, write letters to Andrei and Egor so that they wouldn't stay alone. It is hard to get past the censor, but it is possible: you need to keep writing. Even if one out of ten letters will reach its destination. But it will be a miracle and joy, will be read multiple times and will be kept as a reminder of these events.
"Yahor is an optimist, he believes everything will be well, it will end soon"
Denis Martsinovich
journalist, Yahor Martsinovich's brother
Yahor's detainment was a shock for us. Just as the way he was detained: we know he was beaten. Anyone sympathetic would be shocked in this situation, even more if it involves your nearest.

But the situation itself… Yahor understood – we were in contact daily – that this might happen sooner or later.

Our family supports him. We are like-minded. We were, we are and we will be proud of Yahor. He is not just a brother to me, he is my best friend. We meet very often, we talk about life, mass media, football. It used to be like that before he got arrested; it's impossible now, unfortunately. There is no member of our family who would not support Yahor.

The letters we received from Yahor are very upbeat, he's holding on with fortitude. My brother is an optimist, he's always been; he believes everything will be well, everything will end well and he will be freed. He is certain of his innocence.
Photo from the archive of the Martinovich family
The best way to help now is to send letters. Telegrams. Packages. Any kind of support to make him see he is not alone, he is thought about, he is remembered and people care.

Yahor loves sport which is probably the best way to start a letter. But I think one can write about anything at all. As we hear from "inside", there's a lack of any information: daily routine, household, funny stories, global news – anything to avoid information vacuum. Even if it's just a postcard with a few words, it's ok, it matters.
"Andrei's key quality is his irony, his humour"
Paulina Skurko
Andrei Skurko's wife
Andrei loves history, he reads and writes about it a lot. And his work, especially in recent years, has been closely connected with history. He turned out to be the main biographer at Nasha Historyja journal. He is particularly good at historic portraits. Andrei reads a lot about a person and can grasp their essence. In his articles, a person is disclosed through their time; and the way it is written makes it interesting to read for contemporary people.

Andrei's key quality for me is his irony, his humour. It was the first quality I noticed about him and was charmed by. I wrote about it in my letter to him in prison: "A man who has a quote from 'The Good Soldier Svejk' for any occasion will be alright."

It often occurs to me how points of reference have changed. We all knew they sleep without mattresses or bed linen or pillows in Akrestsina. And how happy I was when Yahor Martsinovich passed via his lawyer that the floor and bunk beds were wooden. I thought, "It's almost like at home, Andrei will manage".

The second good news was that my husband was transferred from Akrestsina to Valadarskaha St. where he met his lawyer. Andrei was already ill at that time. As we found out later from the doctors, he had pneumonia possibly due to COVID-19. These days, we are happy a person ends up at the detention facility in Valadarskaha St., not the hell pit of Akrestsina. There are walks, a shower at Valadarskaha, completely different food – more suitable, my husband has diabetes.

Another moment of great joy was when I received his first letters. I was worried about Andrei's spirits very much. I read the letters and I tread on air. He is very positive, upbeat; he wrote very touching love letters to me, with jokes. His letter to his parents was rather sublime: suffering for the truth is God's blessing, it is good to be imprisoned when you're innocent and had done nothing wrong. These statements from his letters are supporting me.
Andrey, Paulina and Tomash Skurko. Photo from the family archive
The hardest thing for me now is to see our son growing up, to see features of Andrei in him and understand that Andrei is missing that.Tomash is 18 months now: there are new movements, gestures, words, face expressions every day. It's so disappointing, I can't forgive them for taking that away from Andrei.

So I realised I have to become his eyes and describe every tiny detail to him. It hurts telling Tomash the truth about where his father is, so I say: "Dad is in the castle in Valadarka [slang name of the detention facility in Valadarskaha St. – translator's note]. We are waiting for him to come back soon."

Andrei asks to take care of ourselves in every letter. It is an important conclusion I've reached myself: evil forces are doing everything they can to break us, to ruin our nerves and health. But we must understand that we will get through this, while our health is not easy to restore. We must take care of ourselves. No one behind bars will feel better because of our sacrifice.
Letters from behind bars

Yahor Martsinovich, July 19

"We tried to withstand a tsunami, but we failed. Sadly, the space for the independent media to work has shrunk to the size of a cell in Akrestsina or Valadarka.

I have no regrets – and I think my arrested colleagues have none either – that we stayed in Belarus and worked in Belarus as long as we could. The national brand's work should continue with us or without us, because Nasha Niva is not Martinovich, Skurko, Dynko and Rakovich, it is a team of professional journalists and hundreds of thousands of readers.

How can you help us? Subscribe to our social media, to our Telegram channel! Read in Belarusian, repost in Belarusian, speak Belarusian! And when we are not hundreds of thousands, but millions, we will all be freed much sooner. Love Belarus!"


Yahor Martsinovich, July 22, a letter to his mother

"Hello from castle No. 1! I never thought I would be here on a tour, but it has to be done :) Today, I was outside for the first time in two weeks – it was awesome, even though just in the yard.

I have no idea what kind of solidarity campaign you are running, but an occasional neighbour recognized me and shouted: 'I know you! You're on every website! And your girlfriend is beautiful!' So my recognizability index is climbing :)

It is probably harder to look at it all from outside than to be here, inside. Nothing terrible is happening, I will come out eventually. I am a bit sad sometimes, but once you realise you're not alone, you have a great support, it's much better."


Quotes from Andrei Skurko's letters to his wife and parents

"I'm meeting wonderful, bright, interesting people here. It is a fascinating experience.

I can hear women singing folk songs and something from 'The Three Musketeers' in their cells and during walks. The city hall and the Red cathedral can be heard in the mornings and evenings and in the night, some owl living in the ruins is whooing."

"I'm reading the Pressbol newspaper here for the first time in my life. It's like in that DMB movie: 'In the medical ward, the demobee made friends with us because there was no one else to be friends with.'"

"What can happen to a person in prison? It is the safest place on the planet. There is no chance to even 'fall in battle for the Emperor and the whole most august family'" (quoting The Good Soldier Svejk).

"Don't worry, nobody stays here, everyone gets released".
Address for letters:

SIZO-1, 220030, Minsk, 2 Volodarskogo St.
To: Martsinovich Yahor Aleksandrovich
To: Skurko Andrei Gennadievich

You can also send letters via online services: письмо.бел or vkletochku.org

«Наша Ніва» после разгрома: заложники, релокация, новый старт
Давление на «Нашу Ніву» началось ещё в августе 2020 года. Однако 8 июля 2021-го жизнь издания изменилась коренным образом: прошли масштабные обыски, старого сайта больше нет, команда вынужденно покинула Беларусь, главный редактор Егор Мартинович и руководитель отдела рекламы и маркетинга Андрей Скурко — за решёткой.

Как теперь живут журналисты и издание, рассказывают директор «Нашай Нівы» Анастасия Ровдо и родственники арестованных.
Хронология июля 2021

8 июля. Обыски и задержания

Силовики пришли в редакцию «Нашай Нівы», а также к ряду сотрудников издания. В этот день были задержаны четверо: главный редактор Егор Мартинович, руководитель отдела рекламы и маркетинга Андрей Скурко, главный редактор журнала «Наша гісторыя» Андрей Дынько и главный бухгалтер Ольга Ракович.

Егор Мартинович при задержании был избит, в Следственный комитет ему вызывали скорую помощь. Андрей Скурко болен диабетом, в СИЗО он попал в медчасть – нашли проблемы с лёгкими (позже уточнили, что пневмония, вероятно, ковидного происхождения).

Первоначально обыски и допросы проходили по ст. 342 УК (Организация или подготовка действий, грубо нарушающих общественный порядок, или участие в них) и ст. 293 УК (Массовые беспорядки).

С того же дня перестал открываться сайт nn.by. Позже власти озвучили причину этого: «На основании уведомления Генеральной прокуратуры в связи с размещением информации, распространение которой запрещено п.1 ст.38 Закона Республики Беларусь «О средствах массовой информации», Министерством информации принято решение об ограничении доступа к интернет-ресурсу nn.bу».

13 июля

В редакции заявили о релокации из Беларуси. «Работать журналистом независимого издания внутри страны равноценно самоубийству», – сказала на пресс-конференции директор издания Анастасия Ровдо.

16 июля

В этот день бухгалтер издания Ольга Ракович вышла на свободу из изолятора на Окрестина. Об этом «Нашай Ніве» сообщили родственники Ольги.

21 июля

Для Мартиновича и Скурко Следственный комитет избрал меру пресечения в виде содержания под стражей. На свободу под обязательство о явке вышел главный редактор журнала «Наша гісторыя» Андрей Дынько.

28 июля

Мартиновичу и Скурко было предъявлено обвинение. Однако уже совсем по другой статье: ч.2 ст. 216 УК (Нанесение имущественного вреда без признаков хищения, совершенное группой лиц).

Претензии появились из-за того, что оплата за коммунальные услуги помещения, в котором находился офис издания, была по тарифам для физлиц, а нужно было – для юрлиц. По данным следствия, предприятию «Минэнерго» был причинён ущерб в размере 3,5 тысяч рублей. Само предприятие к газете не обращалось.

Главный редактор «Нашай Нівы» и руководитель отдела рекламы признаны политзаключёнными.

29 июля

Заработал новый сайт «Нашай Нівы» — nashaniva.com.

«Все эти дни мы работали над созданием нового сайта. Как сказал из заключения наш главный редактор, национальный бренд должен работать, потому что "Наша Ніва" — это не Мартинович и Скурко, которых бросили в СИЗО, это сотни тысяч читателей. Давайте покажем, что нас много», — заявили в редакции.
«Что бы ни происходило, „Наша Ніва" будет жить»
Анастасия Ровдо
директор «Нашай Нівы»
О новых вызовах

Начал работать новый сайт – nashaniva.com. Но в Беларуси его можно открыть только через vpn. Это такой вызов, который стоит перед всеми беларусскими медиа: как работать и доходить к читателям, когда твой голос глушат.

Нам нужно думать о новых форматах, диверсификации контента, о том, что мы раньше не развивали и не делали. Поэтому в планах, конечно, расширяться и развиваться в новых направлениях, учиться новому. Того, что было раньше, больше нет.

У нас есть несколько вариантов. Это технологические решения — мы советуемся с программистами, что мы сможем сделать. Либо мы возвращаемся к вопросу диверсификации контента, тогда нам нужно искать новые площадки, где мы будем размещать контент.

Надеюсь, что за ближайший год мы выстроим работу редакции в новом формате. Хочется верить, что ситуация со свободой слова в Беларуси улучшится, и мы сможем вернуться к открытому интернет-пространству: когда мы доступны для людей, нам не чинят препятствия на каждом шагу. Но готовиться нужно к худшему.

Сейчас мы просим читателей быть нашими голосами, присылать информацию. Каждый человек, каждый беларус должен стать голосом СМИ и передавать то, что мы, к сожалению, не можем видеть и слышать сами.
Егор Мартинович. Фото: Press Club Belarus
О релокации

Оставаться внутри страны до последнего было нашей позицией. Основная часть команды на свободе, но наши руководители — Егор Мартинович и Андрей Скурко — задержаны. Мы должны продолжать работу, потому что для них это дело всей жизни. Нужно, чтобы им было куда возвращаться. Поэтому, что бы ни происходило, «Наша Ніва» будет жить.

Не могу сказать, что ситуация была для нас совсем неожиданной. Мы осознавали, в какой стране живём, слышали заявления властей и понимали, что это могут быть не просто слова, за ними могут последовать реальные действия. Мы готовились, но реальные события всё равно невозможно предугадать: неизвестно, с какой стороны прилетит удар. Однако подготовленные запасные планы помогли нам перегруппироваться – и теперь мы продолжаем работу в более-менее штатном режиме.

В Беларуси сейчас наши журналисты не работают. Команда, которая создаёт контент для новой «Нашай Нівы», находится за границей.

Мы вынуждены признать, что работать дальше внутри страны в независимом СМИ становится невозможным. Нас поставили перед выбором: уходить из профессии и замолчать или продолжать работу, но уже за пределами Беларуси. Мы выбрали второе. Находясь за границей, мы можем что-то делать, внутри Беларуси риски стали слишком высоки.

И сейчас как никогда остро стоит вопрос личной безопасности авторов. Раньше было честью ставить авторство под каждым текстом, сейчас, к сожалению, журналисты должны прятать свои фамилии. Получается журналистика без лица. Это нездоровая ситуация, так не должно быть, авторы должны гордиться тем, что они создают. Но это небезопасно.

Благодаря COVID-19, мы научились работать онлайн, научились общаться с людьми, не встречаясь с ними вживую. Наша команда сейчас немного разбросана по миру. Но, хочется верить, что мы объединимся. Командный дух очень значим, и для нас всегда было важно встречаться, слышать друг друга, чтобы кипела интеллектуальная жизнь.

Сейчас люди все ещё находятся в ситуации стресса, адаптируются к новым обстоятельствам. Психологическое состояние у журналистов нестабильное, поскольку много изменений. Более того, целый год корреспонденты работали в весьма жёстких и небезопасных условиях. Когда ты каждый день готовишься к задержанию, это вовсе не норма. Так не должно быть.

Кто сейчас выполняет функции Егора Мартиновича? Нет другого Егора Мартиновича, который мог бы заменить его полностью. Он был и остаётся нашим главным редактором. Сейчас мы просто разделили между собой обязанности и перестраиваем работу. И ждём возвращения Егора.


О заложниках

8 июля задержали четверо наших коллег. Через 8 суток вышла бухгалтер Ольга Ракович, через 13 — Андрей Дынько. Сейчас они на свободе, обвинение им не предъявили, но их статус не изменился: они всё ещё подозреваемые.

Андрей Скурко и Егор Мартинович находятся в СИЗО на Володарского (в Минске – прим. ред.). Мера содержания уже выбрана — два месяца ареста обоим. Мы называем коллег заложниками, потому что другого соответствующего определения нет.

Нас очень беспокоит состояние здоровья Андрея, у него выявили пневмонию, скорее всего, ковидного происхождения. Он болен диабетом, и это большой риск. Надеемся, что Андрей получит гарантированный медицинский уход, а врачи медчасти не будут доводить ситуацию до крайности и в случае необходимости перенаправят нашего коллегу к более квалифицированным специалистам.

Нас постоянно спрашивают, как поддержать наших коллег. Действенный вариант поддержки – денежные переводы. На эти деньги они смогут купить себе продукты, вещи первой необходимости.

Но самый важный и необходимый способ – это письма. Мы очень просим, чтобы люди писали Андрею и Егору, чтобы они не оставались одни. Через цензуру сложно пробиться, но возможно: необходимо писать, писать, писать. Даже если из десяти писем дойдёт только одно. Но именно оно будет чудом и радостью, будет перечитываться и останется у них на всю жизнь как память об этих событиях.
«Егор — оптимист, верит, что всё будет хорошо, это всё скоро закончится»
Денис Мартинович
журналист, брат Егора Мартиновича
Задержание Егора у нас вызвало шок. Как и форма задержания: известно, что тогда Егора избили. Любой сочувствующий человек будет в такой ситуации в шоке, а если это твой близкий человек, тем более.

Но сама ситуация… Егор понимал, мы с ним контактировали ежедневно, что раньше или позже такая ситуация может случиться.

Наша семья его поддерживает. Мы единомышленники. Мы гордились, гордимся и будем гордиться Егором. Для меня он не просто брат, а лучший друг, с которым мы очень часто встречаемся, обсуждаем жизнь, СМИ, футбол. Так было до его ареста, сейчас, к большому сожалению, это невозможно. В нашей семье нет человека, который бы не поддерживал Егора.

Письма, которые пришли от Егора — бодрые, он очень мужественно держится. Брат — оптимист, он и по жизни такой, верит, что всё будет хорошо, это всё скоро закончится, и он будет на свободе. Он уверен, что ни в чём не виноват.
Фото из архива семьи Мартиновичей
Самая лучшая помощь сейчас — это письма. Телеграммы. Передачи. Любые формы поддержки, чтобы они видел, что он не один, что про него думают, не забывают, заботятся.

Егор очень любит спорт, и это, пожалуй, самый лучший вариант для начала переписки. Но, мне кажется, что можно писать про что угодно. По отзывам «оттуда», там очень не хватает любой информации: бытовой, весёлых историй, событий в мире – чтобы избежать информационного вакуума. Даже если это будет просто открытка с несколькими словами – это не так важно. Главное, чтобы она была.
«Ключевое качество Андрея — это его ирония, его юмор»
Павлина Скурко
жена Андрея Скурко
Андрей очень любит историю, много про неё читает и пишет. И его деятельность, особенно в последние годы, тесно связана с историей. Вышло так, что он стал основным биографистом в журнале «Наша гісторыя». Ему особенно удаются исторические портреты. Андрей много читает о человеке и может уловить его суть. В его статьях личность раскрывается в своём времени, и это написано так, что современным людям это интересно читать.

Для меня ключевое качество Андрея — это его ирония, его юмор. Это первое качество, которое я в нём заметила и которое меня очаровало. Я ему об этом писала и в тюрьму: «Не пропадёт человек, у которого есть на каждый случай цитата из „Бравого солдата Швейка"».

Часто ловлю себя на мысли, насколько изменились ориентиры в наше время. Мы все знали, что на Окрестина они спят без матрацев, без белья и подушек. И как же я радовалась, когда Егор Мартинович передал через адвоката, что в камере полы и нары деревянные. Подумала тогда: «Ну это почти как дома, как-то уже Андрейка выдержит».

Вторая счастливая новость была, что мужа с Окрестина перевели на «Володарку», где он встретился с адвокатом. Андрей в то время уже был болен. Как мы потом узнали от врачей, у него началась пневмония, возможно, коронавирусная. Наши времена такие, что радуемся, когда человек оказывается в СИЗО на Володарского, а не в этом адовом «Окрестино». На «Володарке» уже есть и прогулки, и душ, и еда совсем другая, более подходящая – у мужа диабет.

Ещё один сильный момент радости был, когда я получила от него первые письма. Я очень переживала за боевой дух Андрея. Я прочитала весточки – и как на крыльях теперь. Он очень позитивный, бодрый, такие любовные и милые письма мне написал, со всякими шуточками. Родителям написал более возвышенное письмо: что терпеть за правду — это Божье благословение, что хорошо сидеть, когда ты ни в чём не виноват и ничего не сделал. Эти мысли из его писем очень меня поддерживают.
Андрей, Павлина и Томаш Скурко. Фото из личного архива
Самое сложное для меня сейчас, это смотреть, как растёт мой сын, видеть в нём черты Андрея и понимать, что муж этого всего не видит. Томашу сейчас исполнилось полтора года: каждый день какие-то новые движения, жесты, слова, выражения лица. Мне так обидно, не могу простить, что у Андрея это отняли.

В этих условиях я поняла, что должна быть его глазами и всё ему точно описывать. Очень больно рассказывать Томашу правду, где папа, поэтому я говорю: «Папа в замке на "Володарке". Мы его ждём, и скоро он к нам приедет».

В каждом письме Андрей передаёт, чтобы мы берегли себя. Это и мой важный вывод: силы зла делают всё, чтобы нас сломить, испортить нам нервы и здоровье. Но мы должны понимать, что мы это переживём, а здоровье восстанавливать очень сложно. Нужно максимально о себе заботиться. Никому за решёткой не будет лучше от нашей жертвы.
Письма из-за решётки

Егор Мартинович, 19 июля

«Мы спрабавалі выстаяць падчас цунамі, але ў нас не атрымалася. На жаль, прастора для дзейнасці незалежных СМІ скарацілася да памеру камеры на Акрэсціна ці Валадарцы.

Ні я, ні, думаю, мае арыштаваныя калегі не шкадуем, што засталіся ў Беларусі і працавалі з Беларусі да апошняга. Праца нацыянальнага брэнда павінна працягвацца хоць з намі, хоць без нас, таму што "Наша Ніва" — гэта не Марціновіч, Скурко, Дынько і Раковіч, а высокапрафесійная журналісцкая каманда і сотні тысяч чытачоў.

Як можна нам дапамагчы? Падпішыцеся на нашыя старонкі ў сацыяльных сетках, падпішыцеся на наш тэлеграм-канал! Чытайце па-беларуску, рэпосціце па-беларуску, размаўляйце па-беларуску! І калі такіх людзей будзе не сотні тысяч, а мільёны, то ўсе мы вызвалімся нашмат раней. Люблю Беларусь!»


Егор Мартинович, 22 июля, письмо матери

«Прывітанне з замка № 1! Не думаў, што апынуся тут на экскурсіі, але калі трэба, значыць, трэба:). Сёння першы раз за два тыдні выйшаў на свежае паветра – даўно так не кайфаваў, хоць і проста ў дворыку.

Не ведаю, што за кампанію салідарнасці вы там арганізавалі, але выпадковы сусед пазнаў мяне крыкам: "Я цябе ведаю! Твой твар на ўсіх сайтах! І ў цябе вельмі прыгожая дзяўчына!" Так што індэкс пазнавальнасці пайшоў угару:)

Напэўна, глядзець на ўсё гэта са свабоды цяжэй, чым проста знаходзіцца тут. Нічога страшнага не адбываецца, рана ці позна я ўсё ж выйду. Трошкі сумна, але калі разумееш, што не адзін, а з велізарнай групай падтрымкі, то нашмат весялей».


Цитаты из писем Андрея Скурко жене и родителям

«Мне здесь попадаются великолепные, светлые, интересные люди. Очень интересный опыт, конечно».

Слышно, как женщины в камерах и на прогулках поют народные песни и что-то из "Трёх мушкетеров". Утром и вечером слышны Ратуша и Красный костёл, а ночью кричит какая-то сова, живущая в руинах».

«Читаю здесь впервые в жизни газету "Прессбол". Это как было в фильме "ДМБ": "в санчасти дембель с нами подружился, потому что дружить ему больше было не с кем"».

«Что может с человеком случиться в тюрьме? Это же самое безопасное место на свете. Здесь даже нет возможности „пасть на поле битвы за Государя Императора и всю семью августейшую"» (цитата из «Бравого солдата Швейка»).

«Не переживайте, здесь никто не остаётся – все выходят».
Адрес для писем, бандеролей и переводов:
СИЗО-1, 220030, г. Минск, ул. Володарского, 2
Мартиновичу Егору Александровичу
Скурко Андрею Геннадьевичу